前日は、夜遅くにインドに着いたので夕食もとらずに撃沈したので、今日はチェンナイ1の人気を誇るSaravana Bhavanにやって来ました。国内に沢山の支店があるのに留まらず、海外にも色々な所に支店があるなんて知らなかった。ここはその総本部です。立食席と、座る席に分かれているのが面白い。私達は座る方に。この若いカップルと相席になりました。このあんちゃんは気さくで、メニューについてあれこれと教えてくれたのでした。彼女の方は万事控えめ、傍らで微笑むばかり。何だか祖父母の時代の日本のカップルは、こんなんだったのかもしれないって思ってしまいました。My first Indian meal, at Saravana Bhavan, Chennai’s most famed chain restaurant serving South Indian vegetarian food. They have many branches in India, and overseas, including Dubai, Paris and East Ham (London). This young couple sat in front of me. they reminded me of an old Japanese couple, him doing all the talking, she quiet and smiling.

これがオーダーしたTAMIL NADU定食。丸いステンレスのお盆にバナナリーフか敷いてあって、その上に小さなステンレス小皿に盛られた色とりどり鮮やかなカリー、ヨーグルト、チャツネ、野菜料理の数々!これら全てが半端でないうまさ。上方に移っているのが揚げパンPOORI。これがまた格別!その横のせんべいみたいなのがポパドム。これらにカリーをつけたりして食す。

I ordered the ‘Tamil Nadu Meal’, a set lunch, or thali, like a teishoku. Various curries, chutney, vegetables and yoghurt came in the round stainless steel pots, and were served with poori fried bread. The poori (aka puri, プーリー) was something really special. Alonside that senbei-like poppadom.

この時点で私の腹はかなり満腹に近かったが、なんと今度は皿の上におかわり自由のご飯(長米種)を乗っける係の兄さんが来て、私の皿にどばっと盛るでないか!見渡すと皆さん器用に右手で全ての皿とご飯を混ぜこぜにし食べている。新しく向かいに座ったおじいさんはたしか3度おかわりしていたっけ。圧巻である。

Even before the rice arrived, I was pretty full up, but it was all-you-can-eat long-grained rice, topped with ghee. The waiter dropped a big dollop on my plate! I looked around and people were eating with their right hand, mixing it all together, adroitly, with just one hand. The old man sitting across the way had his plate filled with rice at least three times. It was a wonder to behold.

さて、これが定食コースのラストを飾るデザート。モンキーバナナと、もう1つの葉に包まれた方の名前はキンマ(蒟醤)というらしい。これが、ただのデザートではない。消化を助ける役目をするらしい、その味とは。

生まれて初めて経験する味、未知との遭遇とでも形容するしかなかった味。

強いて言えばアロマの香りが鮮烈すぎて、まるでオーガニック石鹸を食べているような気がした。絶対自然の食材を使っているはずだが、殆ど人工的な味さえする。本当に不思議な不思議な味!

これら全てとフレッシュライムジュース X 2人分で、占めて350ルピー。 日本円にすると700円弱。すごい値段ですね!

いつもの事ですが、食べている私はいつも至福に溢れた顔をしてますねー。

あんまりスパイスには馴染みが無い私ですが、この旅で少し知識が増えたらなと。明日はシェラトンホテルの南インド料理のレストランのチーフシェフにお話を伺います。楽しみ!!

This was the first time in my life to taste anything like this! To be frank, it was way too ‘aromatic’, so I felt like eating some kind of organic, aroma soap!! They definitely use ‘all natural ingredients’, but it tasted almost totally artificial. It is good for the digestion, so they say. If you didn’t guess already, it is betel.

The whole dinner, including our lime juices, came to the grand total of 350 rupees. Less than 700 yen! Tomorrow we have South Indian lunch with the chef at the Sheraton. I can’t wait!