では、朝市で買った山菜で天ぷらを作りましょう。天ぷらはあまり家でしないのでちょっと緊張。Let’s make sansai tempura with our purchases from the Farmers’ Market.

この子(ロラ/8歳/メス)はいつも私達が食べるものに興味津々です。本日も揚がって行く山菜を虎視眈々と狙っていました!?Her name is Lola, female, 8 years old. She is always so curious about what we eat! She was lying in wait for our sansai tempura!

天ぷらを揚げる時の音が好きです。音もご馳走のうちですね。The sound of frying tempura is part of the flavour.

これは、ユキノシタ。トップの写真の右上の大きな葉の山菜です。This is Yukinoshita, literally (‘Under the Snow’). In the photo at the top of this post, it is the large leafy sansai at the top right of the picture.

衣がライトに揚がってたので安心。山菜は沖縄の粟国の塩と山椒粉で頂きます。I’m relieved that the batter seems light and crispy enough. I served it with a blend of Okinawan sea salt and sansho szechuan pepper.

ささ身にしそを挟んで天ぷらにしました。こちらはおろししょうがと天つゆで食べました。おいしかったです!ごちそうさまでしたー。This is tempura of white chicken breast wrapped in shiso perilla-leaf. I served it in a tentsuyu dipping sauce containing grated fresh ginger. This was really tasty. Gochisosamadeshita~!